• Year of manufacture 
  • Car type 
  • Chassis number 
  • Competition car 
  • FIA Papers 
  • Condition 
  • Location
    United Kingdom
  • Exterior colour 


Built for the 1989 World Sports Car Championship with chassis number 289, this is the second of three XJR-11s ever built by TWR for the factory Silk Cut Jaguar team. #289 made its debut at the Brands Hatch 1000km in the early Silk Cut livery, with the team immediately on pole with the sister #189. Although great promise showed in 1989, 1990 was the year that the XJR-11 really showed its blistering pace. #289 was updated to the 1990 chassis number of 590, and claimed back-to-back podiums at Silverstone and Spa, plus another in Mexico, proving the pace of the Tony Southgate, Ross Brawn-designed carbon-chassis, twin-turbo V6 package – the sister chassis winning overall at Silverstone. Had it not been for the thundering works Sauber-Mercedes C11s, the Silk Cut Jaguars would have been world champions in 1990 – finishing 3rd, 5th and 6th in the final standings, beaten only by the Silver Arrows. Of the five men to race this car (Davy Jones, Alain Ferté, John Nielsen, Andy Wallace, Jan Lammers) four are Le Mans winners, three of those with the Jaguar works team.

One of the fastest and rarest factory Group C cars in existence, XJR-11 #590 is newly rebuilt and truly race-ready. Alternatively, it would make a very special addition to any collection of important race cars. TWR Silk Cut Jaguars are amongst the greatest icons of the finest era of sports car racing, and are the last truly special works Jaguar racing cars.

1989 World Sports Car Championship Results:
480 km Brands Hatch - Jones / Ferté - DNF
480 km Nürburgring - Nielsen / Wallace - 5th
480 km Donington - Wallace / Ferté - DNF
480 km Spa - Nielsen / Wallace - DNF

1990 World Sports Car Championship Results:
480 km Suzuka - Lammers / Wallace - DNF
480 km Monza - Lammers / Wallace - 4th
480 km Silverstone - Lammers / Wallace - 2nd
480 km Spa - Lammers / Wallace - 2nd
480 km Dijon - Lammers / Wallace - 4th
480 km Nürburgring - Lammers / Wallace - 4th
480 km Donington - Lammers / Wallace - DSQ
480 km Montreal - Jones / Wallace - DNF
480 km Mexico - Wallace / Jones - 3rd