Ferrari challenge Misano May 2002

Ferrari challenge Misano May 2002

Misano, 19th May - The third round of the Ferrari Challenge took place at the Autodromo Santa Monica di Misano Adriatico and the dominant drivers were Daniele Medici (Rossocorsa) and Luigi Moccia (Motor) in the Pirelli Trophy and Thomas Kemenater (Ineco) who scored a splendid double victory in the Shell Cup.

Six races so far this season and six different winners goes to show that competitors are evenly matched in a series which, in terms of showcasing spectacle and the quality of the drivers has few rivals. Making the most of the situation and quickest of those playing the percentages, was Nicola Gianniberti (DR Sport Equipe,) who having won on his debut at Mugello, opted to rack up the points rather than go for a win at all costs. Here in Misano, on a day which was characterised by a light drizzle which made the track slippery rather than wet, Gianniberti finished fourth in the sprint race and third in the endurance event, to consolidate his lead. He cause was helped by the troubles which befell others for a variety of reasons, including his closest rivals: Stefano Livio, Andrea Belluzzi, Sandro Montani, Nicola Cadei, Dario Caso and Medici himself, who after winning the first race went off in the second. Briefly, this is what happened: in the Pirelli Trophy sprint race, a surprising Piergiuseppe Perazzini (Motor/Malucelli) climbed through the field in the wet, from 18th to second place behind an untouchable Medici, who dominated from the start. Luigi Moccia managed to climb to the third step on the podium at the expense of Gianniberti, the championship leader. He led home Stefano Livio, fighting his way back after an off and Fabio Santaniello (Motor.) In the afternoon's endurance race, Medici seemed to be heading for the double until his car let him down. At this point, a tough fight broke out between Perazzini and Livio, which saw both men end up off the track and the final went down to a four way battle between Moccia, Sebasti Scalera (CDP,) Gianniberti and Montani, who finished in that order.

In the Shell Cup, there was one man who dominated the day. Former downhill skiing ace Thomas Kemenater took both races. In race one, he led home Armando Batocchi (Ineco) and Giovanni Cappelletti (Rossocorsa/Pellin,) while in race two, he won from Vincenzo Sauto (Ineco) and Klaus Hengelhorn (Denzel,) after his two pursuers from the first race were eliminated in a first corner accident

Overall standings -

Pirelli Trophy: Nicola Gianniberti (Maranello) 101, Sandro Montani (Rossocorsa) 74, Alessandro Sebasti Scalera 71

Shell Cup: Vincenzo Sauto (Ineco) 107, Thomas Kemenater 86, Klaus Hengelhorn 56

Story and photos: Ferrari press - copyright